University of Lancaster
(Engineering / Physics)
University of Liverpool
University of Manchester
Sci-Tech Daresbury
Science and Technology Facilities Council


download the Cockcroft Institute brochure


twittericon%5B1%5D.jpg YouTube_icon%5B1%5D.jpg

Prominent Members of the European Nuclear Physics Community Meet at the CI


Prominent members of the European Nuclear Physics Community: Prof. Brian Fulton, University of York and Chair of NuPECC, Prof. Gunther Rosner of University of Glasgow and Prof. Jens Jorgen Gaardhoje of the Niels Bohr Institute of the University of Copenhagen visited the Cockcroft Institute on the occasion of initiation of preliminary discussions with Prof. John Dainton (Cockcroft Institute and Univ. of Liverpool), Prof. Max Klein (Univ. of Liverpool) and Director Swapan Chattopadhyay, on the topic of identifying possible scientific overlap with and interests of the nuclear physicists in the newly proposed Large Hadron electron Collider (LHeC) at CERN by the Cockcroft/Liverpool team in consultation with the European Deep Inelastic Scattering (DIS) community. The meeting was joined over telephone by Prof. Karlheinz Meier, Chair of the European Committee for Future Accelerators (ECFA) from Univ. of Heidenberg. The LHeC will also be presented by Prof. Chattopadhyay on behalf of Prof. Klein, Prof. Dainton and the rest of the community (and discussed by the US nuclear physics community) at a special conference and workshop at the Hampton University in USA on May 20-23, 2008 on the topic of possible Electron Ion Colliders (EIC) in the USA.

Shown here left to right are Prof. Gaardhoje, Prof. Rosner, Prof. Fulton, Prof. Dainton, Prof. Chattopadhyay and Prof. Klein in caucus at the Cockcroft Institute Boardroom. (click photograph to view larger version)
LINKS: LHeC | DIS2008 | EIC2008 | ECFA